Russia Map: A Comprehensive Guide to Regions and Cities

Russia, spanning Northern Asia and Eastern Europe, is the world's largest country by area, rich in diverse landscapes and cultures.

Overview of Russia

A bird's-eye view of Russia, with its vast landmass and diverse topography, including mountains, rivers, and cities

Russia, officially known as the Russian Federation, is the largest country in the world by area.

It spans across both Northern Asia and Eastern Europe, covering a staggering 17,075,400 square kilometers.

The country is spread across 11 time zones and shares land borders with 14 other nations.

Its geography is incredibly diverse, ranging from the European Plain in the west to the Ural Mountains, which form a natural boundary between Europe and Asia.

The vast region of Siberia covers much of Russia’s territory, known for its extreme climate and abundant natural resources.

The Caucasus Mountains in the southwest, on the other hand, offer a contrasting landscape with a milder climate.

As the world’s ninth-most populous country, Russia has a population of over 146 million people.

Moscow, the capital city, is the largest city and home to more than 12 million residents.

The country’s second-largest city, Saint Petersburg, is known for its rich history and cultural significance.

The official language of Russia is Russian, spoken by the majority of the population.

However, there are over 100 recognized minority languages, reflecting the country’s diversity of ethnic groups.

The Russian Federation is a federal system with a government structure that consists of a president, a prime minister, and other ministers who oversee different aspects of governance.

The national currency is the Russian Ruble.

Russia’s culture is deeply rooted in its history, with influences from various periods such as the Kievan Rus’, the Mongol Empire, and the Soviet Union.

Russian literature, music, art, and architecture are well-regarded internationally and continue to be a significant part of the country’s identity.

Geographic Features and Political Divisions

Major Cities and Regions

Russia is the largest country in the world, with a rich cultural and ethnic diversity.

Its most populous cities include Moscow, St. Petersburg, Novosibirsk, Kazan, Ufa, Perm, Krasnodar, Saratov, and Vladivostok.

Some other major cities are Yekaterinburg, Nizhny Novgorod, Chelyabinsk, Omsk, Samara, Krasnoyarsk, Voronezh, Volgograd, Tyumen, Irkutsk, Makhachkala, and Yaroslavl.

Each city has its own unique mix of culture, language, and ethnic groups.

Bodies of Water and Landforms

The country boasts a diverse range of landforms, including tundra, steppe, and taiga, as well as numerous mountains, rivers, and lakes.

Some famous bodies of water in Russia include Lake Baikal, the deepest and oldest freshwater lake in the world, and the Volga River, Europe’s longest river.

Additionally, Russia has coastlines along the Arctic Ocean, the Pacific Ocean, the Baltic Sea, the Black Sea, and the Caspian Sea.

Other major rivers include the Ob, the Yenisey, the Dnieper, and the Amur.

Neighboring Countries and Borders

Russia shares borders with 14 countries, including Georgia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, China, Mongolia, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Belarus, Ukraine, Norway, Poland, Lithuania, and North Korea.

It also has maritime borders with the United States and Japan.

These borders provide ample opportunities for trade, tourism, and cultural exchange.

Federal Structure and Administrative Divisions

The Russian Federation is made up of 89 federal subjects, including 22 republics, nine federal cities, and autonomous okrugs.

Republics like Tatarstan and Bashkortostan have their own official languages and constitutions and enjoy a greater degree of autonomy.

Federal cities such as Moscow, St. Petersburg, and Kaliningrad hold significant political and economic importance.

Autonomous okrugs, including Dagestan, Smolensk, and Stavropol, provide home to various indigenous ethnic minorities and have their own unique cultures.

Russia’s vast size also means that it spans 11 time zones, showcasing a remarkable diversity in climate, geography, and culture across the nation.