Star Wars Watching Order: A Friendly Guide to Enjoying the Saga

Star Wars can be watched in chronological, release, or Machete order, each offering a distinct experience of the Skywalker saga.

Star Wars Viewing Orders

Chronological Order

One way to watch the Star Wars movies is by following the chronological order of the events in the Skywalker saga.

This order covers the timeline of the franchise from The Phantom Menace to The Rise of Skywalker.

Here’s the list of the movies in the chronological order:

  • The Phantom Menace
  • Attack of the Clones
  • Revenge of the Sith
  • A New Hope
  • The Empire Strikes Back
  • Return of the Jedi
  • The Force Awakens
  • The Last Jedi
  • The Rise of Skywalker

Release Order

Another popular way to watch Star Wars movies is by following their release order.

This order takes you through the journey of the Skywalker saga as the movies were released by George Lucas and Lucasfilm.

Here’s the list of the movies in the release order:

  1. A New Hope
  2. The Empire Strikes Back
  3. Return of the Jedi
  4. The Phantom Menace
  5. Attack of the Clones
  6. Revenge of the Sith
  7. The Force Awakens
  8. The Last Jedi
  9. The Rise of Skywalker

Machete Order

The Machete Order is a unique way to watch the Star Wars Skywalker saga that attempts to provide a more cohesive and satisfying storytelling experience.

The Machete Order maintains the release order but focuses on the core story by skipping The Phantom Menace (Episode I).

Here’s the list of movies in the Machete Order:

  1. A New Hope
  2. The Empire Strikes Back
  3. Attack of the Clones
  4. Revenge of the Sith
  5. Return of the Jedi
  6. The Force Awakens
  7. The Last Jedi
  8. The Rise of Skywalker

Regardless of the order you choose, the Star Wars franchise offers exciting adventures in a galaxy far, far away and showcases the storytelling talents of George Lucas and the talented teams at Lucasfilm.

Star Wars Expanded Universe

A galaxy map with various Star Wars Expanded Universe titles arranged in chronological order, surrounded by iconic starship silhouettes

Television Series

One of the most popular television series in the Star Wars universe is The Mandalorian, which takes place five years after the events of “Return of the Jedi.” Another well-received series is Star Wars: The Clone Wars, an animated show set between “Attack of the Clones” and “Revenge of the Sith.” The storyline revolves around the adventures of Obi-Wan Kenobi, Anakin Skywalker, and Ahsoka Tano.

In addition to these shows, the Star Wars universe also provides fans with a number of other series to enjoy:

  • Star Wars Rebels is an animated series that takes place five years before “A New Hope.” It follows a group of rebels fighting against the Empire.
  • Star Wars Resistance is another animated series, set right before and during the events of the sequel trilogy. It tells the story of a young pilot recruited to spy on the First Order.
  • The Book of Boba Fett is a live-action series focused on the titular bounty hunter as he navigates the underworld after “Return of the Jedi.”
  • Star Wars: The Bad Batch is an animated series following a unique squad of clone troopers in the aftermath of Order 66.

A few upcoming television shows are generating excitement among Star Wars fans, including Ahsoka, a live-action spin-off featuring the beloved Jedi character, and Andor, which follows Cassian Andor from “Rogue One.” Another much-anticipated series is The Acolyte, which delves into the mysterious world of the dark side.

Spin-off Films

Aside from the main episodic saga, the Star Wars universe has also expanded through spin-off films.

These movies explore stories outside the main Skywalker saga but are just as captivating and packed with action.

The first of these spin-offs is Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, which takes place immediately before “A New Hope.” The film features a group of rebels tasked with stealing the plans for the Death Star.

Another notable spin-off is Solo: A Star Wars Story, which delves into the backstory of the fan-favorite character, Han Solo.

Most of these television series and spin-off films are available for streaming on Disney+, making it easier than ever for fans and newcomers to immerse themselves in the Star Wars universe.